To make this website work, we log user data. By using Shephard's online services, you agree to our Privacy Policy, including cookie policy.

Open menu Search

What is Five Eyes connectivity? (video)

10th September 2018 - 13:09 GMT | by Grant Turnbull in London


Five Eyes (FVEY) refers to an alliance that includes Australia, Canada, New Zealand, the UK and US. These countries are bound by the multilateral UKUSA Agreement for joint cooperation in defence intelligence, HUMINT and SIGINT.

This was founded following World War II and initially only included the UK and US. Around 20 agencies from across the five countries are involved in the data sharing.

In order to pass classified intelligence between all partner nations, the alliance relies on a web of communications bearers. This includes secure line-of-sight radios all the way to highly-encrypted satellite-based communications.

FVEY countries still rely on

Already have an account? Log in

Want to keep reading this article?

Read this Article

Get access to this article with a Free Basic Account

  • Original curated content, daily across air, land and naval domains
  • 2 free stories per week
  • Personalised news alerts
  • Daily and weekly newsletters
Create account

Unlimited Access

Access to all our premium news as a Premium News 365 Member. Corporate subscriptions available.

  • Original curated content, daily across air, land and naval domains
  • 14-day free trial (cancel at any time)
  • Unlimited access to all published premium news
Start your free trial
Grant Turnbull


Grant Turnbull

Grant Turnbull was the editor of Land Warfare International and Digital Battlespace magazines with Shephard …

Read full bio

Share to