To make this website work, we log user data. By using Shephard's online services, you agree to our Privacy Policy, including cookie policy.

Open menu

Naval Warfare

Royal Navy names five new Inspiration-Class Type-31 warships

20th May 2021 - 17:27 GMT | by The Shephard News Team


Inspiration-class Type 31 frigate. (Photo: Babcock)

First Sea Lord, Admiral Tony Radakin announces the names of five new Type-31 frigates.

The UK RN has announced the names of five next-generation Type 31 frigates.

The vessels will be named HMS Active, HMS Bulldog, HMS Campbeltown, HMS Formidable and HMS Venturer.

These frigates are grouped as the Inspiration class and their names have been drawn from former RN warships and submarines.

The UK government announced last November that the MoD would receive an increase in funding of over £24 billion over the next four years.

As part of this increase, the Inspiration-class frigates are being introduced to replace in-service Type 23 vessels. Shipbuilder Babcock has been responsible for the construction of the new frigates.

According to Shephard Defence Insight, the Inspiration class will be armed with a Mk45 Mod4 5-inch (127mm) gun, a 32-cell MK 41 strike length vertical launching system capable of launching Sea Ceptor/Evolved SeaSparrow missiles and Tomahawk Land Attack cruise missiles.

Each Inspiration-class vessel has a displacement of 6,095t, an overall length of 128.7m, a maximum beam of 19.8m and a draught of 5m. 

Back to News

Share to